Virtual Events

It was March 18, 2020 when Books & Books first locked down and closed our doors temporarily during the quarantine of the COVID-19 pandemic. Almost immediately, independent bookstores everywhere were turning to new technologies to quickly learn how to bring authors online on various livestreaming platforms. In late April, Books & Books launched a virtual author series of ongoing conversations in the midst of a brand-new virtual landscape. Fast forward to 2022 and more than 700 virtual events under our belt, now archived for your viewing pleasure. Scroll through some of these recordings and you’ll find more than 2 years’ worth of fascinating conversations in support of many of the important books published during a truly historic and unprecedented time. Follow us on Crowdcast and be the first to know of new events and pairings. You can stay up to date by subscribing to our newsletter, too. We are so grateful for your support and patronage, thank you!


The Life and Death of a Minke Whale in the Amazon: An Evening with Fabio Zuker & Ezra E. Fitz


Event Date: May 12, 2022

In these essays, Zuker shares intimate stories of life in the rainforest and its surrounding cities during an age of raging wildfires, mass migration, populist politics, and increa…

Read more



Land of Women: An Afternoon with María Sánchez & Curtis Bauer


Event Date: May 11, 2022

Part memoir and part rural feminist manifesto, Land of Women acknowledges the sacrifices of Sánchez’s female ancestors who enabled her to become the woman she is. A bestseller in S…

Read more



Serenade: An Afternoon with Toni Bentley, Lourdes Lopez & Steven Caras


Event Date: May 9, 2022

Toni Bentley, a dancer for George Balanchine, the greatest ballet maker of the 20th century, tells the story of Serenade, his iconic masterpiece, and what it was like to dance—and…

Read more



Ripe: An Afternoon with Negesti Kaudo and Kristen Elias Rowley


Event Date: May 6, 2022

“Emotional range without consequence,” Negesti Kaudo writes in her debut collection, Ripe, is a privilege of whiteness. In these essays, she fights back, exhorting readers to follo…

Read more



Fly Girl: An Evening with Ann Hood & Laura Lippman


Event Date: May 5, 2022

An entertaining and fascinating memoir of “gifted storyteller” (People) Ann Hood’s adventurous years as a TWA flight attendant. As the airline industry changed around her, Hood beg…

Read more



La revancha de los poderosos: Una Tarde Virtual con Moisés Naím y César Miguel Rondón


Event Date: May 4, 2022

Un libro para entender cómo se obtiene, se usa, se abusa y se pierde el poder en el siglo XXI. En todo el mundo, las democracias se enfrentan a un enemigo nuevo e implacable que no…

Read more



All the Lovers in the Night: An Evening with Mieko Kawakami and Kali Fajardo-Anstine


Event Date: May 3, 2022

Bestselling author of “Breasts and Eggs” Mieko Kawakami invites readers back into her immediately recognizable fictional world with this new, extraordinary novel and demonstrates y…

Read more



Escape from Cuba: An Afternoon with Eloy L. Nuñez and Ernest G. Vendrell


Event Date: April 29, 2022

Books & Books and FIU’s Cuban Research Institute present a conversation between Eloy L. Nuñez and Ernest G. Vendrell. In 1959, Fidel Castro assumed power in Cuba after overthro…

Read more



Poetry Month: An Afternoon with Ange Mlinko and Troy Jollimore


Event Date: April 23, 2022

In VENICE, Ange Mlinko dissolves the boundaries between the sublime and the ordinary, the mythic and the rational, the past and the present. From Naples, Italy, to its sister city…

Read more



Blood Sugar: An Evening with Sascha Rothchild and Billy Corben


Event Date: April 21, 2022

An utterly delicious debut thriller that tells the story of the most likable murderess you will ever meet, perfect for fans of Riley Sager and Jessica Knoll. Author of BLOOD SUGAR,…

Read more



A Virtual Evening with Mary Laura Philpott & Kimberly Williams-Paisley


Event Date: April 20, 2022

From the bestselling author of ‘I Miss You When I Blink’ and a “writer of singular spark and delight” (Elizabeth Gilbert, #1 New York Times bestselling author) comes a poignant and…

Read more



Ordinary Equality: An Evening with Kate Kelly and Brandon Wolf


Event Date: April 19, 2022

“Ordinary Equality” digs into the fascinating and little-known history of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) and the lives of the incredible–and often overlooked–women and queer pe…

Read more