Virtual Events

It was March 18, 2020 when Books & Books first locked down and closed our doors temporarily during the quarantine of the COVID-19 pandemic. Almost immediately, independent bookstores everywhere were turning to new technologies to quickly learn how to bring authors online on various livestreaming platforms. In late April, Books & Books launched a virtual author series of ongoing conversations in the midst of a brand-new virtual landscape. Fast forward to 2022 and more than 700 virtual events under our belt, now archived for your viewing pleasure. Scroll through some of these recordings and you’ll find more than 2 years’ worth of fascinating conversations in support of many of the important books published during a truly historic and unprecedented time. Follow us on Crowdcast and be the first to know of new events and pairings. You can stay up to date by subscribing to our newsletter, too. We are so grateful for your support and patronage, thank you!


La revancha de los poderosos: Una Tarde Virtual con Moisés Naím y César Miguel Rondón


Event Date: May 4, 2022

Un libro para entender cómo se obtiene, se usa, se abusa y se pierde el poder en el siglo XXI. En todo el mundo, las democracias se enfrentan a un enemigo nuevo e implacable que no…

Read more



All the Lovers in the Night: An Evening with Mieko Kawakami and Kali Fajardo-Anstine


Event Date: May 3, 2022

Bestselling author of “Breasts and Eggs” Mieko Kawakami invites readers back into her immediately recognizable fictional world with this new, extraordinary novel and demonstrates y…

Read more



Escape from Cuba: An Afternoon with Eloy L. Nuñez and Ernest G. Vendrell


Event Date: April 29, 2022

Books & Books and FIU’s Cuban Research Institute present a conversation between Eloy L. Nuñez and Ernest G. Vendrell. In 1959, Fidel Castro assumed power in Cuba after overthro…

Read more



Poetry Month: An Afternoon with Ange Mlinko and Troy Jollimore


Event Date: April 23, 2022

In VENICE, Ange Mlinko dissolves the boundaries between the sublime and the ordinary, the mythic and the rational, the past and the present. From Naples, Italy, to its sister city…

Read more



Blood Sugar: An Evening with Sascha Rothchild and Billy Corben


Event Date: April 21, 2022

An utterly delicious debut thriller that tells the story of the most likable murderess you will ever meet, perfect for fans of Riley Sager and Jessica Knoll. Author of BLOOD SUGAR,…

Read more



A Virtual Evening with Mary Laura Philpott & Kimberly Williams-Paisley


Event Date: April 20, 2022

From the bestselling author of ‘I Miss You When I Blink’ and a “writer of singular spark and delight” (Elizabeth Gilbert, #1 New York Times bestselling author) comes a poignant and…

Read more



Ordinary Equality: An Evening with Kate Kelly and Brandon Wolf


Event Date: April 19, 2022

“Ordinary Equality” digs into the fascinating and little-known history of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) and the lives of the incredible–and often overlooked–women and queer pe…

Read more



The Coward: An Afternoon with Jarred McGinnis and Chloé Cooper Jones


Event Date: April 14, 2022

After a car accident Jarred discovers he’ll never walk again. Confined to a ‘giant roller-skate’, he finds himself with neither money nor job. Worse still, he’s forced to live back…

Read more



An Evening with Raquel Salas Rivera and Nicole Cecilia Delgado


Event Date: April 13, 2022

From the National Book Award-nominated, Lambda Award-winning poet Raquel Salas Rivera, a powerful, inventive new collection that looks to the future of Puerto Rico with love, rage,…

Read more



Healing: An Afternoon with Theresa Brown and Damon Tweedy


Event Date: April 13, 2022

New York Times bestselling author Theresa Brown tells a poignant, powerful, and intensely personal story about breast cancer. She brings us along with her from the mammogram that w…

Read more



Write for Your Life: A Virtual Evening with Anna Quindlen & Kelly Corrigan


Event Date: April 12, 2022

In this clarion call to pick up a pen and find yourself from “one of our most astute chroniclers of modern life” (The New York Times Book Review), #1 New York Times bestselling aut…

Read more



The Body Never Forgets: una velada con Abel Sierra Madero y Lillian Guerra


Event Date: April 11, 2022

El nuevo libro del Dr. Abel Sierra Madero reconstruye el carácter sistémico y estructural del trabajo forzoso y, más ampliamente, de la violencia estatal en Cuba. El libro se centr…

Read more