Virtual Events

It was March 18, 2020 when Books & Books first locked down and closed our doors temporarily during the quarantine of the COVID-19 pandemic. Almost immediately, independent bookstores everywhere were turning to new technologies to quickly learn how to bring authors online on various livestreaming platforms. In late April, Books & Books launched a virtual author series of ongoing conversations in the midst of a brand-new virtual landscape. Fast forward to 2022 and more than 700 virtual events under our belt, now archived for your viewing pleasure. Scroll through some of these recordings and you’ll find more than 2 years’ worth of fascinating conversations in support of many of the important books published during a truly historic and unprecedented time. Follow us on Crowdcast and be the first to know of new events and pairings. You can stay up to date by subscribing to our newsletter, too. We are so grateful for your support and patronage, thank you!


“The Ocean is Closed: Journalistic Adventures and Investigations” Virtual Launch Event


Event Date: March 23, 2021

An evening honoring Jon Bradshaw, with Anna Wintour, Michael Zilkha, Julian Sands, Alex Belth, Anne Taylor Fleming, A. Scott Berg, and Adam Moss who discussed “The Ocean is Closed:…

Read more



No Barrier Can Contain It: An Evening with Ariel Mae Lambe


Event Date: March 22, 2021

Books & Books and the Cuban Research Institute present a discussion with Ariel Mae Lambe about “No Barrier Can Contain It”, recorded live March 22, 2021. Vividly recasting Cuba…

Read more



Lifelines: An Afternoon with Melissa and Doug Bernstein


Event Date: March 21, 2021

Co-Founders of Melissa & Doug and LifeLines, wife and husband Melissa and Doug Bernstein are in conversation about Melissa’s new book, “LifeLines.” The book takes the reader on…

Read more



America’s Bilingual Century: An Afternoon with Steve Leveen and Calvin Sims


Event Date: March 20, 2021

“America’s Bilingual Century” is the result of 12 years of research, including hundreds of interviews that Steve Leveen had with leading language scholars as well as bilinguals of…

Read more



Vera: An Evening with Carol Edgarian and Amy Bloom


Event Date: March 19, 2021

In VERA, New York Times bestselling author Carol Edgarian delivers an astonishing feat of imagination, a grand adventure set in 1906 San Francisco. Edgarian and Amy Bloom are in co…

Read more



Una noche con Verónica Cervera, Alejandra Graf, Erica Dinho, Layla Pujol y Clara Gonzalez


Event Date: March 17, 2021

Conéctate con nosotros para conversar con Verónica, Alejandra, Erica, Layla y Clara sobre su nuevo libro “Yo cocino latino: Las mejores recetas de cinco blogs populares de cocina h…

Read more



Topics of Conversation: Miranda Popkey and Lynn Steger Strong


Event Date: March 15, 2021

A tour de force about sex, violence, & self-loathing from a talented new voice in fiction, perfect for fans of Sally Rooney, Rachel Cusk, Lydia Davis, & Jenny Offill. Miran…

Read more



The Idea of You: An Evening with Robinne Lee and Meena Harris


Event Date: March 13, 2021

“The Idea of You” is actor, writer, and producer Robinne Lee’s debut novel. She speaks with Meena Harris, one of the most powerful and dynamic young leaders in America, in this vir…

Read more



Valentine: An Evening with Elizabeth Wetmore and Ron Charles


Event Date: March 12, 2021

An #IndieNextList​ Pick and bookseller favorite, Elizabeth Wetmore’s stunning debut novel VALENTINE is on all our recommendation lists. She spoke with Ron Charles, book writer for…

Read more



Infinite Country: A Virtual Evening with Patricia Engel and Edwidge Danticat


Event Date: March 11, 2021

Wonderful conversation to launch INFINITE COUNTRY at Books & Books with Patricia Engel and Edwidge Danticat. Recorded live March 11, 2021 in partnership with Miami Book Fair. A…

Read more



Sea Wife: A Virtual Evening with Amity Gaige and Megha Majumdar


Event Date: March 10, 2021

From the highly acclaimed author of “Schroder”, Amity Gaige delivers a smart, sophisticated page literary page-turner about a young family who escape suburbia for a yearlong sailin…

Read more



Chasing My Cure: An Evening with David Fajgenbaum and Dr. Mikkael A. Sekeres


Event Date: March 9, 2021

Books & Books and The University of Miami Department of Medicine hosted a virtual discussion between David Fajgenbaum and Dr. Mikkael A. Sekeres on March 9, 2021. Dr. Fajgenbau…

Read more