Virtual Events

It was March 18, 2020 when Books & Books first locked down and closed our doors temporarily during the quarantine of the COVID-19 pandemic. Almost immediately, independent bookstores everywhere were turning to new technologies to quickly learn how to bring authors online on various livestreaming platforms. In late April, Books & Books launched a virtual author series of ongoing conversations in the midst of a brand-new virtual landscape. Fast forward to 2022 and more than 700 virtual events under our belt, now archived for your viewing pleasure. Scroll through some of these recordings and you’ll find more than 2 years’ worth of fascinating conversations in support of many of the important books published during a truly historic and unprecedented time. Follow us on Crowdcast and be the first to know of new events and pairings. You can stay up to date by subscribing to our newsletter, too. We are so grateful for your support and patronage, thank you!


We Refuse to Forget: An Evening with Caleb Gayle and Kiese Laymon


Event Date: June 20, 2022

A landmark work of untold American history that reshapes our understanding of identity, race, and belonging. In “We Refuse to Forget”, award-winning journalist Caleb Gayle tells th…

Read more



The Spy Who Knew Too Much: An Evening with Howard Blum


Event Date: June 15, 2022

A retired spy gets back into the game to solve a perplexing case—and reconcile with his daughter, a CIA officer who married into the very family that derailed his own CIA career—in…

Read more



The Importance of Not Being Ernest: A Virtual Evening with Mark Kurlansky and Mitchell Kaplan


Event Date: June 13, 2022

In The Importance of Not Being Ernest, acclaimed journalist and New York Times bestselling author Mark Kurlansky focuses on the sprawling life and work of Ernest Hemingway while dr…

Read more



Scorpion’s Dance: An Evening with Jefferson Morley and Fernand Amandi


Event Date: June 8, 2022

For the 50th anniversary of the Watergate break-in: The untold story of President Richard Nixon, CIA Director Richard Helms, and their volatile shared secrets that ended a presiden…

Read more



A Trail of Crab Tracks: An Evening with Patrice Nganang & Amy B. Reid


Event Date: June 7, 2022

The award-winning author Patrice Nganang chronicles the fight for Cameroonian independence through the story of a father’s love for his family and his land and of the long-silenced…

Read more



The Burnout Antidote: An Afternoon with Anne Bérubé and Nancy Regan


Event Date: June 6, 2022

Use your body as an instrument for accelerated transformation and growth with this powerful guide to overcoming burnout. Anne Bérubé helps you access your innate capacity to heal a…

Read more



An Evening w/ Nora Raleigh Baskin, Debbie Reed Fischer, Debra Green, Jonathan Rosen & Melissa Roske


Event Date: June 1, 2022

This short story collection highlights the diverse experiences of becoming an adult in the Jewish faith. What does it mean to become an adult in your faith? Join thirteen diverse c…

Read more



The Evening Hero: An Evening with Marie Myung-Ok Lee and John Darnielle


Event Date: May 26, 2022

Toggling between the past and the present, Korea and America, “The Evening Hero” is a sweeping, moving, darkly comic novel about a man looking back at his life and asking big quest…

Read more



Our Last Days in Barcelona: An Evening with Chanel Cleeton and Ana Veciana-Suarez


Event Date: May 25, 2022

Bestselling author Chanel Cleeton has a new novel, “Our Last Days in Barcelona”! Listen to the author’s discussion with Ana Veciana-Suarez, recorded virtually May 25, 2022.

Read more



An Evening with Tsering Yangzom Lama and Maaza Mengiste


Event Date: May 24, 2022

For readers of ‘Homegoing’ and ‘The Leavers’, a compelling and profound debut novel about a Tibetan family’s journey through exile. Breathtaking in its scope and powerful in its in…

Read more



By the Grace of the Game: An Evening with Dan Grunfeld


Event Date: May 23, 2022

Dan Grunfeld is a former professional basketball player, an accomplished writer, and a proud graduate of Stanford University. In By the Grace of the Game, Dan Grunfeld shares the r…

Read more



The Garden of Broken Things: A Virtual Evening with Francesca Momplaisir & Edwidge Danticat


Event Date: May 19, 2022

From the acclaimed author who has been compared to Toni Morrison comes a haunting and astonishing story of restoration and disaster, motherhood, and the bonds that carry through ge…

Read more