Virtual Events

On March 18, Books & Books closed our doors temporarily during quarantine due to the COVID-19 pandemic. On April 22, we launched our first ever virtual event on Crowdcast, a conversation with Secretary Madeline Albright about her new book, HELL AND OTHER DESTINATIONS. And we haven’t stopped since. We are now hosting virtual events mostly every weeknight at 7pm and some on weekends, in partnership with our friends at Miami Book Fair, and with additional support from Lit Hub and Culture Crusaders.

The schedule attempts to emulate what it was like at our signature store in Coral Gables, where you could walk in and find a live author reading and discussing their book, literally every night of the week. The majority of these events are free. Our doors re-opened in early June for socially-distanced and masked shopping, but it continues to be unsafe to hold any events at our stores. For the time being, we will continue to present to you the very best authors, voices and books virtually and look forward to seeing you there! Some technical difficulties notwithstanding, you’ve shown an amazing amount of understanding and patience and we see our viewer numbers are growing with each passing day.

Remember, every book you purchase helps to support us and we thank you for your support! We’ve started this archive on our website, so that you can access anything you might have missed, at your own pace, and in your own time. Follow us on Crowdcast so that you’re the first to know of any new events. We look forward to seeing you online in the coming months, as our literary community lives on virtually, until the time when we will meet again at Books & Books!


Una noche con Verónica Cervera, Alejandra Graf, Erica Dinho, Layla Pujol y Clara Gonzalez


Event Date: March 17, 2021

Conéctate con nosotros para conversar con Verónica, Alejandra, Erica, Layla y Clara sobre su nuevo libro “Yo cocino latino: Las mejores recetas de cinco blogs populares de cocina h…

Read more



Topics of Conversation: Miranda Popkey and Lynn Steger Strong


Event Date: March 15, 2021

A tour de force about sex, violence, & self-loathing from a talented new voice in fiction, perfect for fans of Sally Rooney, Rachel Cusk, Lydia Davis, & Jenny Offill. Miran…

Read more



The Idea of You: An Evening with Robinne Lee and Meena Harris


Event Date: March 13, 2021

“The Idea of You” is actor, writer, and producer Robinne Lee’s debut novel. She speaks with Meena Harris, one of the most powerful and dynamic young leaders in America, in this vir…

Read more



Valentine: An Evening with Elizabeth Wetmore and Ron Charles


Event Date: March 12, 2021

An #IndieNextList​ Pick and bookseller favorite, Elizabeth Wetmore’s stunning debut novel VALENTINE is on all our recommendation lists. She spoke with Ron Charles, book writer for…

Read more



Infinite Country: A Virtual Evening with Patricia Engel and Edwidge Danticat


Event Date: March 11, 2021

Wonderful conversation to launch INFINITE COUNTRY at Books & Books with Patricia Engel and Edwidge Danticat. Recorded live March 11, 2021 in partnership with Miami Book Fair. A…

Read more



Sea Wife: A Virtual Evening with Amity Gaige and Megha Majumdar


Event Date: March 10, 2021

From the highly acclaimed author of “Schroder”, Amity Gaige delivers a smart, sophisticated page literary page-turner about a young family who escape suburbia for a yearlong sailin…

Read more



Chasing My Cure: An Evening with David Fajgenbaum and Dr. Mikkael A. Sekeres


Event Date: March 9, 2021

Books & Books and The University of Miami Department of Medicine hosted a virtual discussion between David Fajgenbaum and Dr. Mikkael A. Sekeres on March 9, 2021. Dr. Fajgenbau…

Read more



Come Fly the World: An Evening with Julia Cooke


Event Date: March 8, 2021

“Come Fly the World” with author Julia Cooke, recorded live March 8, 2021 in partnership with Miami Book Fair Glamour, danger, liberation: in a Mad Men–era of commercial flight, Pa…

Read more



Birds of a Feather: A Virtual Event with Sita Singh and Stephanie Fizer Coleman


Event Date: March 6, 2021

Books & Books, Miami Book Fair and Flamingo Gardens present a conversation between Sita Singh and Stephanie Fizer Coleman. Recorded live March 6, 2021. From debut author Sita S…

Read more



The Good Girls: Lunch with Sonia Faleiro in conversation with Isaac Chotiner


Event Date: March 5, 2021

By the award-winning writer of “Beautiful Thing”, a masterly inquest into how the mysterious deaths of two teenage girls shone a light into the darkest corners of a nation. Author…

Read more



Dirty Gold: An Evening with Jay Weaver and Nicholas Nehamas


Event Date: March 4, 2021

The explosive story of the illegal gold trade from South America, and the three Miami businessmen who got rich on it—until it all came crashing down. Colleagues and co-authors Jay…

Read more



Decoding “Despacito”: A Virtual Evening with Leila Cobo and Luis Fonsi


Event Date: March 3, 2021

A fun conversation between Billboard’s Leila Cobo and global music star Luis Fonsi to celebrate DECODING DESPACITO. Recorded live March 3, 2021 in partnership with Miami Book Fair.

Read more