Loading Events

« All Events

June 4 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

An Evening with Mary Annaïse Heglar and Sasha Forbes

Organizer

Books & Books

Details

Date:
June 4
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Venue

Books & Books in Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134
+ Google Map

Phone:
305.442.4408

Books & Books presents…

AN EVENING WITH MARY ANNAÏSE HEGLAR

in conversation with

Sasha Forbes

discussing

Troubled Waters

(Harper Muse, $17.99)

Tuesday, June 4, 7 PM | Books & Books, Coral Gables

RSVP HERE FOR FREE


Books & Books is proud to present an evening with Mary Annaïse Heglar discussing her novel, Troubled Waters (Harper Muse, $17.99). She will be in conversation with Sasha Forbes.

This event is FREE and open to the public and books will be available for purchase the night of the event! Please RSVP only if you intend to join us.


About the Book:

In this intimate portrait of two generations, a granddaughter and a grandmother come to terms with what it means to be family, Black women, and alive in a world on fire.

The world is burning–and Corrine will do anything to put out the flames. After her brother died aboard an oil boat on the Mississippi River in 2013, Corrine awakened to the realities of climate change and its perpetrators. Now, a year later, she finds herself trapped in a lonely cycle of mourning both her brother and the very planet she stands on. She’s convinced that in order to save her future, she has to make sure that her brother’s life meant something. But in the act of honoring her brother’s spirit, she resurrects family ghosts she knows little about–ghosts her grandmother Cora knows intimately.

The world is burning–but it always has been. Cora’s ghosts have followed her from her days as a child integrating schools in 1950s Nashville to her new life as a mother, grandmother, and teacher in Mississippi. As a child of the civil rights movement, she’s done her best to keep those specters away from her granddaughter. She faced those demons, she reasons to herself, so that Corinne would never know they existed.

When Corrine’s plan to stage a dramatic act of resistance peels back the scabs of her family wounds and puts her safety in jeopardy, both grand­mother and granddaughter must bring their unspoken secrets into the light to find a path to healing. Their world hangs in the balance as past and future meet in the present moment.

In heartfelt, lyrical prose, Mary Annaïse Heglar weaves an unforgettable story of the climate crisis, Black resistance, and the enduring power of family.

Perfect for fans of Jesmyn Ward, Yaa Gyasi, and Tayari Jones

BUY THE BOOK HERE


About the Author:

Mary Annaïse Heglar is known for her essays that dissect and interrogate the climate crisis, drawing heavily on her personal experience as a Black woman with deep roots in the South. Her work has appeared in New York MagazineThe NationThe Boston GlobeVoxRolling Stone, and other outlets. Her work has also been featured in collections like All We Can Save,The Black Agenda, and Not Too Late. She has taught at Columbia University in New York and Tulane University in New Orleans. She is the author of The World Is Ours to Cherish (2024, Random House Kids) and Troubled Waters (2024, Harper Muse). She is from Birmingham, AL by way of Mississippi and is based in New Orleans.

About the Moderator:

Sasha Forbes is a connector and an earth steward, believing in the interconnectedness of all things. She helps run a family-operated independent publishing company Bookman Express, based in South Florida and Jamaica. In addition to publishing, she has an urban planning and policy background with a range of expertise at the intersection of housing + land use + transportation + environment.