Hanif Abdurraqib, A Little Devil in America: Notes In Praise Of Black Performance
(Random House)

Jeremy Atherton Lin, Gay Bar: Why We Went Out
(Little, Brown)

Rodrigo Garcia, A Farewell To Gabo And Mercedes: A Son’s Memoir

Doireann Ní Ghríofa, A Ghost In the Throat

Albert Samaha, Concepcion: An Immigrant Family’s Fortunes



Susan Bernofsky, Clairvoyant of the Small: The Life of Robert Walser
(Yale University Press)

Keisha N. Blain, Until I Am Free: Fannie Lou Hamer’s Enduring Message to America
(Beacon Press)

Rebecca Donner, All the Frequent Troubles of Our Days: The True Story of the American Woman at the Heart of the German Resistance to Hitler
(Little, Brown)

Mark Harris, Mike Nichols: A Life
(Penguin Press)

Alexander Nemerov, Fierce Poise: Helen Frankenthaler and 1950s New York
(Penguin Press)



Melissa Febos, Girlhood

Jenny Diski, Why Didn’t You Do What You Were Told?

Jesse McCarthy, Who Will Pay Reparations On My Soul?

Mark McGurl, Everything and Less: The Novel in the Age of Amazon

Amia Srinivasan, The Right To Sex



Joshua Cohen, The Netanyahus

Rachel Cusk, Second Place

Sarah Hall, Burntcoat
(Custom House)

Honorée Fanonne Jeffers, The Love Songs of W.E.B. DuBois

Colson Whitehead, Harlem Shuffle



Patrick Radden Keefe, Empire of Pain: The Secret History of the Sackler Dynasty

Joshua Prager, The Family Roe: An American Story

Sam Quinones, The Least of Us: True Tales of America and Hope in the Time of Fentanyl and Meth

Clint Smith, How the Word Is Passed
(Little, Brown)

Rebecca Solnit, Orwell’s Roses



B.K. Fischer, Ceive

Donika Kelly, The Renunciations

Rajiv Mohabir, Cutlish
(Four Way)

Cheswayo Mphanza, The Rhinehart Frames
(University of Nebraska)

Diane Seuss, frank: sonnets

John Leonard Prize


Ashley C. Ford, Somebody’s Daughter
(Flatiron Books)

Jocelyn Nicole Johnson, My Monticello
(Henry Holt)

Torrey Peters, Detransition, Baby
(One World)

Larissa Pham, Pop Song

Anthony Veasna So, Afterparties

Devon Walker-Figueroa, Philomath
(Milkweed Editions)

Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing

Merve Emre


Christoph Irmscher

Julian Lucas

Jeremy Lybarger

Jennifer Wilson

Toni Morrison Achievement Award

Cave Canem Foundation

Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award

Percival Everett