Loading Events

« All Events

December 5 @ 1:00 pm

Tenderness: An Evening with Alison MacLeod and Morgan Jones

Details

Date:
December 5
Time:
1:00 pm

Venue

On CROWDCAST

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present…

An Virtual Evening with Alison MacLeod

in conversation with

Morgan Jones

Tenderness

(Bloomsbury Publishing, $29)

Sunday, December 5, 1 PM ET

REGISTER HERE

About the Book:

“Powerful, moving, brilliant . . . an utterly captivating read, and I came away from it with this astonished thought: There’s nothing this writer can’t do.” –Elizabeth Gilbert

For readers of A Gentleman in Moscow and Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, an ambitious, spellbinding historical novel about sensuality, censorship, and the novel that set off the sexual revolution.  

On the glittering shores of the Mediterranean in 1928, a dying author in exile races to complete his final novel. Lady Chatterley’s Lover is a sexually bold love story, a searing indictment of class distinctions, and a study in sensuality. But the author, D.H. Lawrence, knows it will be censored. He publishes it privately, loses his copies to customs, and dies bereft.

Booker Prize-longlisted author Alison MacLeod brilliantly recreates the novel’s origins and boldly imagines its journey to freedom through the story of Jackie Kennedy, who was known to be an admirer. In MacLeod’s telling, Jackie-in her last days before becoming First Lady-learns that publishers are trying to bring D.H. Lawrence’s long-censored novel to American and British readers in its full form. The U.S. government has responded by targeting the postal service for distributing obscene material. Enjoying what anonymity she has left, determined to honor a novel she loves, Jackie attends the hearing incognito. But there she is quickly recognized, and FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover takes note of her interest and her outrage.

Through the story of Lawrence’s writing of Lady Chatterley’s Lover, the historic obscenity trial that sought to suppress it in the United Kingdom, and the men and women who fought for its worldwide publication, Alison MacLeod captures the epic sweep of the twentieth century from war and censorship to sensuality and freedom. Exquisite, evocative, and grounded in history, Tenderness is a testament to the transformative power of fiction.

BUY THE BOOK HERE

About the Author:

ALISON MACLEOD is the author of three novels, The ChangelingThe Wave Theory of Angels and Unexploded, which was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2013, and two collections of stories, Fifteen Modern Tales of Attraction and All the Beloved Ghosts. She is the joint winner of the Eccles British Library Writer’s Award 2016 and is Visiting Professor of English and Creative Writing at the University of Chichester. She was raised in the States and Canada and lives in Brighton.

About the Moderator:

Morgan Jones is an editor at Bloomsbury Publishing. She works on a wide range of fiction and nonfiction, as well as cookbooks and other illustrated titles. Previously, she worked at The Iowa Review and on Iowa City’s 2018 Mission Creek Festival, hosted by the Englert Theatre. She lives in Brooklyn.