Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

June 4, 2019 @ 6:30 pm

LeJuan James

Details

Date:
June 4, 2019
Time:
6:30 pm

Venue

zArchive1-Books & Books in Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134 United States
+ Google Map

Phone:
3054424408


Perfect for fans of Fresh Off the Boat’s situational humor and Jane the Virgin’s celebration of Latinidad, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspective memoiristic essays by social media influencer and viral phenomenon LeJuan James about growing up Hispanic in the US.

LeJuan James loves being Hispanic. But growing up in the United States to immigrant parents, he quickly noticed that their house rules and traditions didn’t always match up with his friends’. The result was a lifetime of laugh-out-loud relatable content for his videos. After half a decade of reenacting his experiences online, LeJuan is taking a closer look at everything he loves about his family’s culture.

Definitely Hispanic is a collection of heartfelt memoiristic essays that explores the themes LeJuan touches upon in his videos and celebrates the values and traditions being kept alive by Hispanic parents raising US–born children. He shares anecdotes about discovering the differences between his and his friends’ households, demystifies “La Pela” (the Spanking), explains the vital role women play in Hispanic families, and pays reverence to universal cultural truths like food is love and music is in Hispanics’ DNA.

From #Home, where he talks about how his family moved back and forth between the United States and Puerto Rico until settling in Orlando, FL, to #TheHouse, when he was finally able to buy his parents the home they deserve thanks to his online success; this wide-ranging collection of essays will resonate with fans of all ages who feel like they straddle the line between two (or more) cultures, languages, and/or identities.


BUY TICKETS HERE TO MEET LEJUAN!

¡Bendicion! Are you coming to meet LeJuan James at Books & Books? Purchase a ticket from the link above and you’ll get 1 entry into the autographing. You’ll get to meet him, get your book signed and have your photo taken. Ay, Papi!


About the Author:

LeJuan James is a bicultural and bilingual social media influencer, comedian, and content creator, sharing weekly videos about growing up Hispanic in the US. He lives in Orlando, FL with his girlfriend Camila and their dogs Yoda and Luke. Definitely Hispanic is his first book.