Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

April 26 @ 6:30 pm

In-Person | Big Read 2022 | Mango and Peppercorns: An Evening with Tung Nguyen, Kathy Manning and Lyn Nguyen

Details

Date:
April 26
Time:
6:30 pm

Venue

Books & Books
265 Aragon Avenue
Coral Gables, FL 33134 US
+ Google Map

Books & Books, Miami Book Fair and The National Endowment for the Arts Big Read present

An Evening with Tung Nguyen and Kathy Manning 

in conversation with

Lyn Nguyen

Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream

(Chronicle Books, $24.95)

Tuesday, April 26, 6:30 PM ET

RSVP

Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream, is a unique contribution to culinary literature by life-long collaborators Tung Nguyen and Kathy Manning. Although they come from different worlds, together they created magic in their award-winning Miami Vietnamese restaurant Hy Vong. Kathy ran the front of the house while Tung created masterful dishes in the kitchen.  Mango and Peppercorns is the story of Tung’s journey to America and the friendship with Kathy that would change her life. Lyn Nguyen, Tung’s daughter, will moderate the conversation between her mother, Tung Nguyen and Kathy Manning. Samplings of their signature spring rolls will be offered.

Raffle: Mango and Peppercorn Gift Basket.
Each attendee will receive one raffle ticket for a chance to win a curated gift basket that includes many of the ingredients to make Hy Vong’s signature spring rolls, as well as assorted sweets, and a copy of Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream.

This event is part of Miami Book Fair’s 2022 Big Read program.

About the Book:

A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami.

Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature.

In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country.

Tung’s fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy’s free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts—a harmony embodied in the restaurant’s signature mango and peppercorns sauce.

• IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.
• TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country’s longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.
• INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes.

Perfect for:

• Fans of culinary nonfiction
• Fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen
• Home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking

BUY THE BOOK HERE

About the Authors:

Tung Nguyen, who fled Vietnam almost fifty years ago, cofounded the award-winning Hy Vong, a pioneering Vietnamese restaurant in Miami. She currently cooks for select pop-ups and catered events.

Katherine Manning cofounded Hy Vong. She manages Hy Vong’s pop-ups and catered events.

Lyn Nguyen is Tung Nguyen’s daughter. Before earning degrees from Harvard and Cornell, she helped wait tables at Hy Vong. She is the CEO and cofounder of Liquid Analytics, an artificial intelligence innovation firm.