Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

April 22 @ 7:30 pm

In-Person: An Evening with Suzanne Barr and Aymara Lucero discussing My Ackee Tree: A Chef’s Memoir of Finding Home in the Kitchen

Details

Date:
April 22
Time:
7:30 pm

Venue

Books & Books in Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134 United States
+ Google Map

Phone:
3054424408

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present…

A Virtual Evening with Suzanne Barr

in conversation with

Aymara Lucero

discussing

My Ackee Tree: A Chef’s Memoir of Finding Home in the Kitchen

(Penguin Canada, $24.95)

Friday, April 22, 2022, 7:30 PM ET 

LIVE and IN-PERSON at Books & Books, Coral Gables

RSVP REQUIRED


About the Book:

For fans of The Measure of My Powers and Notes from a Young Black Chef, a memoir about food, family, and the recipes that brought one woman home when she needed it the most.

Suzanne Barr’s journey to become a chef started when she was 30. Her mother was diagnosed with cancer and she moved home to Florida to take care of her. Suzanne escorted her mother to doctor’s appointments, bathed her, and kept her company, but the hardest part of the experience was that she didn’t know how to cook for her. She didn’t even know where to begin.

Fast-forward to the summer of 2017 when Suzanne became the inaugural Chef-in-Residence at the Gladstone Hotel in Toronto. She wanted to create a menu that represented who she was as a chef and it emerged as a love letter to her mother. Her Rite of Passage Menu, as she called it, changed her. It started her on a journey that has brought her closer to her mother, to her ancestors, and to her Jamaican heritage.

But a lot has happened before and since.

My Ackee Tree tells the story of a woman who is always on the move, always seeking; who battles the stereotypes of being a Black female cook to become a culinary star in an industry beset by dated practices and landlords with too much power. From the ackee tree in front of her childhood home, through New York City, Atlanta, Hawaii, the Hamptons, and France, Suzanne takes us on her unpredictable journey, and at every turn, she finds light and comfort in the kitchen. Told in a voice as fresh and honest as her cooking, My Ackee Tree is a celebration of creativity, soul searching, and motherhood that asks, “How can I keep the things I love?”


About the Author:

SUZANNE BARR is one of Canada’s most respected chefs with a flair for fresh comfort food and a passion for local community, food security, and advocacy for BIPOC and LGBTQ2+ communities. She was the owner of the popular restaurant Saturday Dinette, head chef of True True Diner, and is the founder of the Dinettes Program, which trains young, marginalized women in the kitchen. Suzanne lives in Toronto with her husband and son.

About the Moderator:

AYMARA LUCERO is the founder of Concerned Cook, a restaurant & food business marketing agency in Miami, FL. After almost 10 years in the marketing field, she amplifies the voices of brands focused on local food, wellness, and sustainability!