Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

August 20, 2023 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

In-Person: An Evening with Marsha Lederman

Details

Date:
August 20, 2023
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Venue

Books & Books in Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134
+ Google Map

Phone:
305.442.4408

Books & Books presents…

AN EVENING WITH MARSHA LEDERMAN

discussing

Kiss the Red Stairs: The Holocaust, Once Removed: A Memoir

(McClelland & Stewart, $18.00)

Sunday, August 20th, 6:00 PM | Books & Books, Coral Gables

RSVP HERE FOR FREE


Books & Books is thrilled to present an evening with Marsha Lederman discussing her compelling, award-winning book: Kiss the Red Stairs: The Holocaust, Once Removed: A Memoir (McClelland & Stewart, $18.00).

This event is FREE and open to the public and books will be available for purchase the night of the event so make sure to stay after the talk for a book signing! Please RSVP only if you intend to join us.


About the Book:

WINNER of the Cindy Roadburg Memorial Prize—Western Canada Jewish Book Awards

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

For readers of All Things Consoled by Elizabeth Hay and They Left Us Everything by Plum Johnson, Kiss the Red Stairs is a compelling memoir by award-winning journalist Marsha Lederman delves into her parents’ Holocaust stories in the wake of her own divorce, investigating how trauma migrates through generations with empathy, humour, and resilience.

Marsha was five when a simple question led to a horrifying answer. Sitting in her kitchen, she asked her mother why she didn’t have any grandparents. Her mother told her the truth: the Holocaust.
Decades later, her parents dead and herself a mother to a young son, Marsha begins to wonder how much history has shaped her own life. Reeling in the wake of a divorce, she craves her parents’ help. But in their absence, she is gripped by a need to understand the trauma they suffered, and she begins her own journey into the past to tell her family’s stories of loss and resilience.
Kiss the Red Stairs is a compelling memoir of Holocaust survival, intergenerational trauma, divorce, and discovery that will guide readers through several lifetimes of monumental change.

BUY THE BOOK HERE


About the Author:

MARSHA LEDERMAN is the Western Arts Correspondent for the Globe and Mail. Before joining the Globe, Marsha worked for CBC Radio, mostly in Toronto, where she held a variety of positions, including National Arts Reporter. Marsha also worked in commercial radio as a reporter, newscaster and talk show host. Born in Toronto, she now lives in Vancouver.