Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

March 11, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

In-Person: An Evening with Lissette Decos & Alexandra Codina

Organizer

Books & Books

Details

Date:
March 11, 2023
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Venue

zArchive2-Books & Books Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134 United States
+ Google Map

Books & Books presents…

AN EVENING WITH LISETTE DECOS

in conversation with

Alexandra Codina

discussing

Ana Takes Manhattan

(Forever, $15.99)

Saturday, March 11th, 7:00 PM | Books & Books, Coral Gables

RSVP HERE FOR FREE


Books & Books is thrilled to present an evening with Lisette Decos, in conversation with Alexandra Codina, discussing her book: Ana Takes Manhattan (Forever, $15.99).

This event is FREE and open to the public and books will be available for purchase the night of the event so make sure to stay after the talk for a book signing! Please RSVP only if you intend to join us.


About the Book:

“Ana Takes Manhattan is like a cool breeze on a hot summer day—a refreshing breath of fresh air. With smart and snappy dialogue, spot-on Manhattan vibes, and a heroine you can’t help but root for, Lisette Decos’s debut is the escape we all need all year round.”

—Meredith Schorr, author of As Seen on TV

Fans of Abby Jimenez and Alexis Daria will love this novel about one New York City woman skilled in producing swoon‑worthy reality TV shows but whose own life is a mess, with nothing ever going according to plan.

As a reality TV producer, Ana Karina orchestrates extravagant marriage proposals that always (well, mostly) go as planned. When they don’t, she’s not afraid to cut and paste scenes to make the moment picture-perfect. If only Ana’s own life was as simple to direct. Her colleagues are getting promotions. Her best friend and her younger sister are both getting married. Everyone is moving forward—except Ana.

Sick of feeling stuck, she decides to start living with no regrets. She’s going to pitch all her ideas at work, no matter how unlikely. She’ll take a chance on a guy even if he doesn’t check all her boxes for Mr. Right. Soon, she’s swept up in a roller coaster of exhilarating dates—a comedy show, a Jane Austen reenactment, a rave pool party, and a whirlwind trip to Vienna. With all this excitement, Ana should be on her way to her own happily-ever-after, but instead her life is getting messier by the second.

Yet throwing caution to the wind may still bring Ana more than she hoped for as she begins to listen to her heart and realizes the life—and man—truly meant for her might be the one she never saw coming.

 

BUY THE BOOK HERE


About the Author:

Lissette Decos is a Cuban American executive television producer with over fifteen years’ experience in reality TV formats of the love-wedding-relationship-disaster variety. Shows such as TLC’s Say Yes to the Dress, 90 Day Fiancé, and Bravo’s Summer House have helped mold her skills in telling an engaging and oftentimes unconventional love story. In addition to her stint in the “unreal” world of reality TV, Lissette also spent a decade in New York as a staff producer for MTV, which helped her hone her expertise in all things pop culture, while searching for love in the big city. You might say she’s got the story and the soundtrack for romantic angst down.

About the Moderator:

Alexandra Codina’s directorial and producing debut, MONICA & DAVID, broadcast on HBO, won Tribeca’s Jury Award, and was nominated for a Primetime Emmy.  Her latest film, PAPER CHILDREN premiered worldwide with YouTube Originals. She is currently serving as consulting producer on RIVER OF GRASS, a film about the iconic Florida Everglades.  Ali has been featured on: NPR’s All Things Considered, Newsweek, Univision’s Primer Impacto, The Huffington Post, CNN en Español, LATimes, Latina Magazine, etc.