Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

November 6, 2023 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

In-Person: An Evening with Joanna Margaret & Jasmin Attia

Details

Date:
November 6, 2023
Time:
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Venue

Books & Books in Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134
+ Google Map

Phone:
305.442.4408

Books & Books presents…

AN EVENING WITH JOANNA MARGARET

in conversation with

Jasmin Attia

discussing

The Bequest: A Dark Academia Thriller

(Scarlet, $26.95)

Monday, November 6th, 6:30 PM | Books & Books, Coral Gables

RSVP HERE FOR FREE


Books & Books is thrilled to present an evening with Joanna Margaret & Jasmin Attia discussing Margaret’s gripping book: The Bequest: A Dark Academia Thriller (Scarlet, $26.95).

This event is FREE and open to the public and books will be available for purchase the night of the event! Please RSVP only if you intend to join us.


About the Book:

Named a “Most Anticipated” October Thriller by Bustle, PopSugar, & CrimeReads

After her professor’s suspicious death, a PhD student uncovers dark machinations among her academic associates in this “richly atmospheric and irresistibly readable” (Joyce Carol Oates) Gothic mystery set between Scotland, Italy, and France.

Fleeing a disastrous affair with a colleague in Boston, Isabel Henley moves to Scotland to begin a PhD with a renowned feminist professor—only to learn, upon arrival, that her advisor has suffered a deadly fall. Soon after, Isabel is informed that another scholar at the university is about to publish a book on her dissertation topic, leaving her disconcerted and in search of a new subject, all while struggling to acclimate to her new home abroad.

Isabel needs a good friend during such a rocky start, and finds one when she reconnects with Rose Brewster, her charismatic classmate from undergrad. But when Rose confides to Isabel that she is in trouble, and then goes missing, Isabel’s already-unsteady life is sent into a tailspin. A suicide note surfaces, followed by a coded message: Rose is alive but, unless Isabel can complete the research begun before her friend’s disappearance, both women will be killed by her captors.

As Isabel follows the Rose’s paper trail from Genoa to Florence and, finally, to Paris, she uncovers family secrets, the legend of an enormous cursed emerald, and a chain of betrayal and treason which parallels her own perilous present. If she can put the pieces together soon, she could solve a 400-year-old mystery—and save her and her friend’s lives in the process.

Combining epistolary elements, Gothic suspense, and an atmospheric “dark academia” setting, The Bequest is a gripping literary thriller that will appeal to fans of Alex Michaelides’ The Maidens and Donna Tartt’s The Secret History.

BUY THE BOOK HERE


About the Author:

Joanna Margaret is an art historian whose previous writing and scholarly work has focused on Florentine aristocrats in sixteenth-century France. She holds a PhD from the University of St. Andrews and an MFA from NYU, where Joyce Carol Oates served as her thesis advisor. Joanna Margaret lives and works in New York City. The Bequest is her debut novel.

About the Moderator:

Jasmin Attia is a 2021 graduate of the Bennington Writing Seminars, and 2022 winner of the Nicholas Schaffner Award for Music in Literature. Her writing has appeared in Lit Hub, Electric Lit, The Millions, Jewish Book Council’s Paper Brigade Daily and AWP’s The Writer’s Chronicle. She lives in Palm Beach Gardens. The Oud Player of Cairo is her debut novel.

Order Attia’s debut novel here.