Loading Events

« All Events

August 16 @ 7:00 pm

In Person: An Evening with Deb Rogers | FLORIDA WOMAN

Details

Date:
August 16
Time:
7:00 pm

Venue

Books & Books in Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134
+ Google Map

Phone:
305.442.4408

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present…

AN EVENING WITH DEB ROGERS

discussing

Florida Woman

(Hanover Square Press, $27.99)

Tuesday, August 16, 7 PM | IN-PERSON at Books & Books, Coral Gables

Signing to follow the conversation 

RSVP HERE TO ATTEND


Join us in-person at Books & Books as Deb Rogers discusses her debut book FLORIDA WOMAN.

This event is FREE and open to the public and books will be available for purchase the night of the event so make sure to stay after the talk for a book signing! Please RSVP only if you intend to join us.


About the Book:

A gleefully dark and entertaining debut for fans of Kevin Wilson and Karen Russell, about one young woman’s sensational summer at a Floridian wildlife center for exotic monkeys

Jamie is a Florida Woman. She grew up on the beach, thrives in humidity, has weathered more hurricanes than she can count, and now, after going viral for an outrageous crime she never meant to commit in the first place, she has the requisite headline to her name. But when the chance comes for her to escape viral infamy and imminent jail time by taking a community service placement at Atlas, a shelter for rescued monkeys, it seems like just the fresh start Jamie needs to finally get her life back on track — until it’s not.

Something sinister stirs in the palmetto woods surrounding her cabin, and secrets lurk among the three beguiling women who run the shelter and affectionately take Jamie under their wing for the summer. She hears the distant screams of monkeys each night; the staff perform cryptic, lakeside sacrifices to honor Atlas; and the land, which has long been abandoned by citrus farmers and theme park developers alike, now proves to be dangerously, relentlessly untamed.

As Jamie ventures deeper into the offbeat world and rituals of Atlas, her summer is soon set to inspire an even stranger Florida headline than she ever could’ve imagined.

BUY THE BOOK


About the Author:

DEB ROGERS is a diversity consultant and freelance writer in St. Augustine, Florida. She was previously the Pop Culture editor of SheKnows, national producer of the Listen to Your Mother Show storytelling series, and LGBTQ Community Leader for BlogHer, where she was the host of the annual Queerosphere gathering. She tweets at @debontherocks.