Loading Events

« All Events

February 8 @ 7:00 pm

Heartbreak: A Virtual Evening with Florence Williams and Helen Fisher

Details

Date:
February 8
Time:
7:00 pm

Venue

On CROWDCAST

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present…

A Virtual Evening with Florence Williams

in conversation with

Helen Fisher

discussing

Heartbreak: A Personal and Scientific Journey 

(W. W. Norton & Company, $30)

Tuesday, February 8, 2022, 7 PM ET | On Crowdcast

REGISTER FOR FREE

About the Book:

Florence Williams explores the fascinating, cutting-edge science of heartbreak while seeking creative ways to mend her own.

When her twenty-five-year marriage unexpectedly falls apart, journalist Florence Williams expects the loss to hurt. What she doesn’t expect is that she’ll end up in the hospital, examining close-up the way our cells listen to loneliness. She travels to the frontiers of the science of “social pain” to learn why heartbreak hurts so much and why so much of the conventional wisdom about it is wrong.

Searching for insight as well as personal strategies to game her way back to health, Williams tests her blood for genetic markers of grief, undergoes electrical shocks in a laboratory while looking at pictures of her ex, and ventures to the wilderness in search of awe as an antidote to loneliness. For readers of Wild and Lab Girl, Heartbreak is a remarkable merging of science and self-discovery that will change the way we think about loneliness, health, and what it means to fall in and out of love.

BUY THE BOOK

About the Author:

FLORENCE WILLIAMS is the author of Breasts, winner of the Los Angeles TimesBook Prize, and The Nature Fix. A contributing editor at Outside magazine, her writing has appeared in the New York Times, National Geographic, and many other outlets. She lives in Washington, DC.

About the Moderator:

HELEN FISHER, PhD, Biological Anthropologist, is a Senior Research Fellow at The Kinsey Institute and Chief Science Advisor to the Internet dating site Match.com. She has conducted extensive research and written six books on the evolution and future of human sex, love, marriage, gender differences in the brain and how your personality style shapes who you are and who you love. She is currently using her knowledge of brain chemistry to discuss the neuroscience of team building, business leadership and innovation.