Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

April 13 @ 1:00 pm

Healing: A Virtual Afternoon with Theresa Brown and Damon Tweedy

Details

Date:
April 13
Time:
1:00 pm

Books & Books and Miami Book Fair present

A Virtual Afternoon with

Theresa Brown, RN

in conversation with

Damon Tweedy

Healing: When a Nurse Becomes a Patient

(Algonquin Books, $27.95)

Wednesday, April 13, 1 PM ET  | On Crowdcast

REGISTER HERE


About the Book:

“Deeply moving.” —Damon Tweedy, New York Times bestselling author of Black Man in a White Coat

New York Times bestselling author Theresa Brown tells a poignant,powerful, and intensely personal story about breast cancer. She brings us along with her from the mammogram that would change her life through her diagnosis, treatment, and recovery. Despite her training and years of experience as an oncology and hospice nurse, she finds herself continually surprised by the lack of compassion in the medical maze—just as so many of us have. Why is she expected to wait over a long weekend
to hear the results of her cancer tests if they are ready? Where is the empathy from caregivers? Why is she so often left in the dark about procedures and treatments? At times she’s mad at herself for not speaking up and asking for what she needs but knows that being labeled a “difficult” patient could mean she gets worse care.  As she did in her book The Shift, Brown draws us into her work with the unforgettable details of her daily life—the needles, the chemo drugs, the rubber gloves, the frustrated patients—but from her new perch as a patient, she also takes a look back with rare candor at some of her own  cases as a nurse and considers what she didn’t know then and what she could have done better.  A must-read for fans of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal, Suleika Jaouad’s Between Two Kingdoms, and all of us who have tried to find healing through our health-care system.

BUY THE BOOK

About the Author:

THERESA BROWN, RN, author of the New York Times bestseller The Shift, has been a contributor to the New York Times. Her writing appears on CNN.com and in the American Journal of Nursing, the Journal of the American Medical Association, and the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. She has been a guest on MSNBC Live and NPR’s Fresh Air. Her first book was Critical Care, and during what she calls her past life, she received a PhD in English from the University of Chicago. She lectures nationally and internationally on issues related to nursing, health care, and end of life.

About the Moderator:

DAMON TWEEDY is a graduate of Duke University School of Medicine. He is an associate professor of psychiatry at Duke University School of Medicine and staff physician at the Durham Veteran Affairs Health System. He has published articles about race and medicine in the New York TimesWashington Post, Chicago Tribune, and Raleigh News & Observer, as well as in various medical journals and is the author of Black Man in a White Coat: A Doctor’s Reflections on Race and Medicine. He lives outside Raleigh-Durham, North Carolina, with his family.