Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

March 18 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

An Evening with K.D. Alden and Heather Graham

Organizer

Books & Books

Details

Date:
March 18
Time:
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Venue

Books & Books in Coral Gables
265 Aragon Ave
Coral Gables, FL 33134
+ Google Map

Phone:
305.442.4408

Books & Books presents…

AN EVENING WITH K.D. ALDEN

in conversation with

Heather Graham

discussing

Lady Codebreaker

(Forever, $19.99)

Monday, March 18, 6:30 PM | Books & Books, Coral Gables

RSVP HERE FOR FREE


Books & Books is proud to present an evening with K.D. Alden discussing her new novel, Lady Codebreaker (Forever, $19.99). She will be in conversation with Heather Graham.

***Please note: This event will take place at the Books & Books in Coral Gables at 265 Aragon Ave. Please RSVP only if you intend to join us. 


About the Book:

Fans of Kate Quinn and Kristina McMorris will love this gripping historical novel based on the true story of the woman who used her codebreaking skills to bring down Prohibition gangsters and WWII Nazis, and who ultimately helped found the present-day CIA.

Grace Smith has never been one to conform to society’s expectations. She flees small-town Indiana to seek adventure—and finds more than she bargained for when she’s hired by an eccentric millionaire to learn codebreaking. Soon she’s using those skills to help head the government’s fledgling cryptanalysis unit.

During Prohibition, Grace takes up the fight against rumrunners—not to mention Al Capone himself. And as the country careens from one Great War to another, it’s Grace who must crack the secrets of foreign governments, catch spies, and derail saboteurs . . . before it’s too late.

With wry wit and sheer grit, she forges her own path as a codebreaker, wife, mother. She’s spent a lifetime going up against powerful men and winning. But as war rages and the stakes grow impossibly high, Grace faces a truly impossible choice: her family or her country?

BUY THE BOOK HERE


About the Author:

K.D. Alden is the pseudonym of an award-winning author who has written more than twenty novels in various genres. She has been the recipient of the Maggie Award, the Book Buyer’s Best Award and an RT Reviewer’s Choice Award. A Mother’s Promise is her first historical novel. K.D. is a graduate of Smith College, grew up in Austin, Texas, and resides in south Florida with her husband and two rescue greyhounds.

About the Moderator

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Heather Graham, majored in theater arts at the University of South Florida. She is pleased to have been published in approximately thirty languages and has written over 200 novels and has 70 million books in print. Heather has been honored with awards from booksellers and writers’ organizations for excellence in her work, and she is the proud to be a recipient of the Silver Bullet from Thriller Writers and was awarded the prestigious Thriller Master Award in 2016. She is also a recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from RWA. Heather has had books selected for the Doubleday Book Club and the Literary Guild, and has been quoted, interviewed, or featured in such publications as The Nation, Redbook, Mystery Book Club, People and USA Today and appeared on many newscasts including Today, Entertainment Tonight, and local television.