Loading Events

« All Events

June 6 @ 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm

An Evening with Desmond Hall and Lauren Ho

Details

Date:
June 6
Time:
8:00 pm - 9:00 pm

The Books & Books Literary Foundation presents…

AN EVENING WITH WITH DESMOND HALL & LAUREN HO

in conversation with

S. Isabelle & Dana Swift

discussing

Better Must Come & Bite Me, Royce Taslim

(Altheneum, Caitlyn Dlouhy Books, $19.99; Disney Hyperion, $18.99 )

Thursday, June 6th, 8 PM | Books & Books, Coral Gables

RSVP HERE FOR FREE


Books & Books is proud to present a young adult fiction panel with Desmond Hall discussing his novel: Better Must Come (Altheneum, Caitlyn Dlouhy Books, $19.99), and Lauren Ho discussing her novel: Bite Me, Royce Taslim. They will be in conversation with young adult fiction authors S. Isabelle and Dana Swift.

This event is FREE and open to the public. Books will be available for purchase the night of the event! Please RSVP only if you intend to join us.


About the Books:

Barely Missing Everything meets American Street in this fiercely evocative, action-packed young adult thriller that looks at the darker side of light-filled Jamaica and how a tragedy and missing drug money helplessly entangle the lives of two teens who want to change their fate.

Deja is a “barrel girl”—one of the Jamaican kids who get barrels full of clothes, food, and treats shipped to them from parents who have moved to the US or Canada to make more money. Gabriel is caught up in a gang and desperate for a way out. When he meets Deja at a party, he starts looking for a way into her life and wonders if they could be a part of each other’s futures.

Then, one day while out fishing, Deja spies a go-fast boat stalled out by some rocks, smeared with blood. Inside, a badly wounded man thrusts a knapsack at her, begging her to deliver it to his original destination, and to not say a word. She binds his wounds, determined to send for help and make good on her promise…not realizing that the bag is stuffed with $500,000 American. Not realizing that the posse Gabriel is in will stop at nothing to get their hands on this bag—or that Gabriel’s and her lives will intersect in ways neither ever imagined, as they both are forced to make split-second choices to keep the ones they love most alive.

Acclaimed author of Last Tang Standing and Lucie Yi is Not a Romantic in her YA debut: a sharp yet sweet rivals-to-romance romp through Kuala Lumpur—perfect for fans of Emiko Jean, Abigail Hing Wen, and Kat Cho.

Agnes Chan never expected to be the punchline of her own life . . .

But how else do you explain getting accidentally run over and seeing a lifetime of careful preparation, endless training, and all your hopes of a track scholarship to college destroyed in a split second? Not to mention the only witness to your humiliation being your #1 archnemesis, Royce Taslim.

So, when Agnes finds a new answer to her scholarship predicament in the form of an international stand-up comedy contest for teens, the last person she expects to be up against is also the last person she wants to see: Royce. Because for years Royce has represented everything Agnes loathes: extreme privilege, popularity, and physical perfection (ok maybe she doesn’t hate that part so much).

Behind the scenes, though, Royce’s flawless façade fades away, revealing someone Agnes never expected—someone who shows her that perhaps the best parts of life are the ones you aren’t prepared for—and as the competition heats up, so do things between these two rivals. But will the pressure to win be too much for them to handle—or will Agnes (and Royce) get the last laugh?

BUY THE BOOK HERE


About the Authors:

Desmond Hall was born in Jamaica, West Indies, and moved to Jamaica, Queens. He has worked as a high school biology and English teacher in East New York, Brooklyn; counseled teenage ex-cons after their release from Rikers Island; and served as Spike Lee’s creative director at Spike DDB. Desmond has served on the board of the Partnership for Drug-Free Kids and the Advertising Council and judged the One Show, the American Advertising Awards, and the NYC Downtown Short Film Festival. He’s also been named one of Variety magazine’s Top 50 Creatives to Watch. He’s the author of Your Corner Dark and Better Must Come. Desmond lives outside of Boston with his wife and two daughters.

Lauren Ho, author of adult romcoms Last Tang Standing and Lucie Yi is Not a Romantic, is a reformed legal counsel who now prefers to write for pleasure. Hailing from Malaysia, she is currently based in Singapore, where she’s ostensibly working on her next novel while attempting to parent. Bite Me, Royce Taslim is her YA debut. Find her on Instagram and Twitter @HelloLaurenHo.


About the Moderators:

S. Isabelle is a reader, writer, and hoarder of books. After earning a master’s degree in library science, she took that love of reading to youth librarianship. She is the author of The Witchery and Shadow Coven as well as the short story “Break” in the anthology Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA. When she’s not writing, you can find her binge-watching TV shows, drinking heavily sweetened coffee, or stressing over baseball. Visit her online at sisabellebooks.com.

Dana Swift started making up fantasy worlds when she was eleven years old and hasn’t stopped since. She graduated from the University of Texas at Austin, where she earned degrees in English and Advertising. Dana currently lives in Miami, Florida where she works as the children’s book buyer for Books & Books, the beloved local indie bookstore. Her debut, CAST IN FIRELIGHT and its sequel, BOUND BY FIRELIGHT, were published with Delacorte Press. You can learn more about Dana at www.danaswiftbooks.com.